Awards and Levels

TASC accredited senior secondary courses are designed for use in the senior secondary years (years 11 and 12). They are organised in levels of difficulty (Level 1 is the lowest and Level 4 the highest). Results assessed under these courses in schools that follow TASC quality assurance procedures are qualifications in senior secondary courses accredited by the TASC.

A result appears as one of the following awards:
    Preliminary Achievement (indicates partial attainment of the course objectives)
    Satisfactory Achievement
    Commendable Achievement
    High Achievement
    Exceptional Achievement (since 2003) or Outstanding Achievement (before 2003)

For some courses a result may appear as one of the following:
    Pass, Higher Pass, or Satisfactory Completion

Assessment under a TASC senior secondary course is based on criteria and standards set out in the course document, which gives a detailed description of what each award means. Assessment under a Level 3 or 4 course includes state-wide external assessment. This is combined with the school-based assessment to form a final award.

The size of each course is shown in which 15 corresponds to a designed delivery time of 150 hours.

ABOUT TASC: Independent. Improving Standards. Open and Transparent.
Courses A - Z Replacement Certificates Result Queries
Tasmania Online | Service Tasmania | Contact Us | Home | Top LOGIN
This website has been produced and authorised by the Office of Tasmanian Assessment, Standards and Certification. The content on this page is current at Dec 1, 2020, 6:33 AM (Tasmania time). Refresh or reload the page for the latest content. Questions and comments concerning the content of this website can be directed to or use our Comments Form. The URL for this page is This page was last modified on 20/04/2015 and has been visited 3202 times this year.
You are directed to the personal information protection policy, disclaimer and copyright notices governing the information provided.
Visit the Tasmanian Government Website