Post-Compulsory Qualifications in Tasmania

Post-compulsory school qualifications in Tasmania are generally divided into:
  • senior secondary schooling years 11 and 12
  • vocational education and training (VET)
  • higher education.

Senior secondary achievements in Tasmania lead to the Tasmanian Certificate of Education.

Vocational education and training attainments lead to certificates, diplomas and advanced diplomas.

Higher education leads to qualifications of diploma, advanced diploma, bachelor, master and doctor.

Qualifications are consistent around Australia and are described by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). Information about Australian qualifications can be found at the AQF website at

The list of senior secondary courses and qualifications accredited in Tasmania is at

The list of VET qualifications is at VET qualifications are Australia-wide.

The list of higher education courses and qualifications accredited for delivery in Australia is at

Because a course / qualification is on a list does not mean that it is currently being offered in Tasmania. Qualification providers can decide what they deliver from the list of accredited courses / qualifications.

ABOUT TASC: Independent. Improving Standards. Open and Transparent.
Courses A - Z Replacement Certificates Result Queries
Tasmania Online | Service Tasmania | Contact Us | Home | Top LOGIN
This website has been produced and authorised by the Office of Tasmanian Assessment, Standards and Certification. The content on this page is current at Sep 23, 2020, 8:01 PM (Tasmania time). Refresh or reload the page for the latest content. Questions and comments concerning the content of this website can be directed to or use our Comments Form. The URL for this page is This page was last modified on 21/12/2015 and has been visited 3549 times this year.
You are directed to the personal information protection policy, disclaimer and copyright notices governing the information provided.
Visit the Tasmanian Government Website